LCC Open Day

After returning from the RCA Open Day, I checked when all the Open Days for the other universities I planned to apply to were happening. It just works out that I will be going to one every week in February (usually on a Wednesday which is perfect since we don’t have to be in on that day). I intentionally signed up for the Open Days in February when possible rather then the later ones because I wanted to make up my mind about my potential MA study as soon as possible. So here is my rather adventurous schedule for this month…

London College of Communication: Wednesday 3rd February

Central Saint Martins: Thursday 11th February

Goldsmiths: Wednesday 17th February

UCA Epsom: Wednesday 24th February

Yesterday I went to the LCC Open Day. It started off with a welcome/talk by the head of school, followed by a tour of the building. I must say that from the moment I entered I had a good feeling about the place, and sometimes those sort of intuitions are worth listening to. I liked the modern, clean feel which contrasted quite a bit with the more traditional feel to the RCA. Following this I went to the design department for presentations on various courses. Unlike at the RCA, there wasn’t a convenient exhibition up of current work. But this was somewhat remedied by photos of work the tutors referred to in their presentations. I picked LCC for it’s MA Graphic Design course but from the presentations I got the impression it was VERY typography heavy, whereas I was looking for a course that would allow me the room to use my illustration skills as well. The work shown in the various presentations was quite interesting and generally with each presentation I secretly wished to go onto that particular course – even knowing that I wouldn’t really fit in with my type of work. But I think that’s a good sign, if the tutors can be that motivational and inspirational that they make you want to join the course! What surprised me was the new MA Visual Storytelling presentation, a course I hadn’t really considered much prior to the Open Day. After the presentations I stuck around to speak to the course leaders of MA Graphic Design and MA Visual Storytelling to find out more about both courses, especially the graphic design – typography -illustration ratios within each one. It was quickly established that Graphic Design basically encompasses all types of work seen tonight in all the presentations, which put my worries to rest. I really went away from the Open Day feeling like this could definitely be a place, and a course, I could call home. So, thus far this MA Graphic Design course is as the top of my MA options list, followed potentially by the MA Visual Storytelling and then the RCA MA Communication Art & Design. Both of the LCC courses are only one year, but they start in January and end in December rather then following the terms dates I am used to. The RCA course is two years, normal term dates.

http://www.geceducation.net/popups/images/arts01.jpg

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nuttyxander/2366824263/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

