Justification, Aims & Objectives

Past, Present and Future
I’ve done many projects about the various places I have lived in, in Asia, but to this point I haven’t given much attention to my heritage and the art, culture and history of Prague. It dawned on me that it would be a very appropriate challenge to try come up with a Czech-centered or Prague-centered brief. As the third year of my BA draws to a close I’ve been looking at possibilities for the future. A part of this was trying to find opportunities in design companies in Prague (ideally foreign companies with an office in Prague since I want to work primarily in English). At the same I was primarily focused on coming with a project which would complement my decision to pursue further study at MA level. So, when the Prague 2020 idea occurred to me, I instantly latched onto because it resonated so strongly with me. It would act as a bridge back to my heritage and perhaps how that defines who I am now, as well as a bridge to opening doors in the future.

Goals & Aims
Creating a visual identity for the Prague 2020 Olympics would once again push me out of my comfort zone and into unfamiliar territory, into identity and logo design this time. This has essentially been my approach all year, choosing projects which will help me become more versatile as a creative, enhance my portfolio and push my skills to the next level. A visual identity brief would be ideal in helping me develop my typography and Illustrator software skills (which link back to the aims I set out for this year). On top of all that it will be centred around Prague and the Czech Republic, so it really does tick all the boxes. Cross References Upon closer consideration, I think the link to the Olympics heavily drew upon my dissertation (which was just ending as the EMP was beginning) on the circle as a symbol in logo design (with the Olympic Rings as the main case study). My choice of project, therefore, seemed to perfectly complement the dissertation and I thought this link invaluable in my grand scheme of getting onto a Masters course. The dissertation set up a smooth transition to this project because I was already equipped with some background knowledge on the Olympics as such.

Cross References
Upon closer consideration, I think the link to the Olympics heavily drew upon my dissertation (which was just ending as the EMP was beginning) on the circle as a symbol in logo design (with the Olympic Rings as the main case study). My choice of project, therefore, seemed to perfectly complement the dissertation and I thought this link invaluable in my grand scheme of getting onto a Masters course. The dissertation set up a smooth transition to this project because I was already equipped with some background knowledge on the Olympics as such.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

