Work Placement Progress

During the week I called up a bunch of companies to enquire about whether they offer work placements….this was really useful I think because within a few minutes I knew where the potential for a job placement lay and where they didn’t offer any. Here is the page of notes I took from that:

I talked to Sally this week about whether to send a PDF portfolio along with my CV and she suggested just creating a one page portfolio with thumbnail samples of my work. Otherwise just wait and see what the company requires of me. Yesterday I began designing on Photoshop a single potfolio sample page with thumbnails of my work…it was much harder then I thought it would be and I haven’t come up with an effective design solution yet. I came up with a few different approaches to it but haven’t managed to try them all yet. Many were actually inspired by various calendar layouts I have seen on deviantart.com.

Today I just sat down to re-work my CV into something appropriate for the design industry. I was a bit stuck initially on how to approach it, so I went online to get some ideas of what design CV’s should contain and here are some of the useful links I came across:

http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20061016043605AAHyDfL

http://www.squidoo.com/thedesignconspiracy7cv

http://uk.geocities.com/bluespace02/

http://www.pdp.ucreative.ac.uk/career-planning/CV.asp

This week’s InDesign session on Wednesday was practically heaven sent in relation to finding a work placement. The tutors mentioned that we should just send things as PDF’s so that is what I am going to do for my Cover Letter + CV + portfolio sample page. Quite appropriately this week’s session dealt with exporting things as PDF’s!!!! Perfect! Exactly what I needed!

  1. I finally decided to write a comment on your blog. I just wanted to say good job. I really enjoy reading your posts.

    Tina Russell

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

